Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Idris Goodwin and Lorraine Nam

Your House Is Not Just a House

This event has already occurred
Date:
Saturday, May 18
Time:
11:00 am PDT
Cost:
$5 - $25 Sliding Scale, Free for ages 22 & Under
Learn more about Sliding Scale tickets.

Venue

The Wyncote NW Forum
1119 8th Ave (Entrance off Seneca St.)
Seattle, 98101 United States
+ Google Map

Community Events

22 and Under

Note: Town Hall events are approximately 75 minutes long.

Book cover: A small child slides down a staircase with a robot shaped like a basketball following behind. Title at the top says "Your House is Not Just a House."
Buy the Book

Your House Is Not Just a House

The Elliott Bay Book Company

Buy Book
Headshot of Idris Goodwin (with brown skin, black beard, and dark suit jacket) and Lorraine Nam in a white shirt with dark hair)
Arts & Culture

Preschool children and their caregivers are invited to join us for a very special edition of Small Frye: Storytelling + Art at Town Hall Seattle. Together, we’ll celebrate the launch of author Idris Goodwin’s new book, A House is Not Just a House with interactive storytelling and hands-on artmaking with Seattle Children’s Theatre and teaching artists from the Frye Art Museum.

About the book, A House is Not Just a House
From breakbeat poet and playwright Idris Goodwin and celebrated artist Lorraine Nam comes a whimsical, irresistible rhyming read-aloud empowering kids to embrace their imagination. Perfect for fans of The Year We Learned to Fly and Boxitects.

It seems your home is just
walls, windows, and doors,
but take a closer look
it’s that and so much more!

Read More

One rainy day, a kid opens their closet to discover a teleportation chamber. In the adventure of make-believe that follows, we are invited to see our homes as more than places to live — they are vessels for creativity and joy.

Note: Trained teaching artists plan this program to be developmentally appropriate for ages 2-6. This is a free program for ages 22 & Under, but space is limited and pre-registration is required.

Author Idris Goodwin is an award-winning storyteller for multiple generations. An accomplished playwright, breakbeat poet, content creator, and arts champion, Goodwin is recognized as a culture bearer who celebrates community values and cultivates histories with care. Idris is the author of over sixty original plays, ranging from his hip-hop-inspired breakbeat series to historical dramas to works for young audiences. Driven by a passion for cultural impact and civic engagement, Idris currently serves as artistic director of Seattle Children’s Theatre. Your House Is Not Just a House is his debut picture book. The book centers a biracial child, engaged and enthralled by his own imagination, discovering the possibilities even within his own home.

Lorraine Nam is a paper illustrator and daydreamer. When she is not folding, gluing, and cutting things out of paper, she can be found cooking, reading, or traveling. She currently lives in Brooklyn, New York, and frequently looks out at the New York skyline from her studio window. On a clear night, she is able to see the occasional star. You can visit her online at lorrainenam.com.


Presented by Town Hall Seattle, in partnership with Frye Art Museum and Seattle Children’s Theatre.

Frye Art Museum and Seattle Childrens Theatre logos

This event is presented in partnership with Frye Art Museum and Seattle Children’s Theatre.

Upcoming Events

Rental Partner: Neighborhood House Washington presents

What Matters Most