We just launched a new ticketing system!
Important: You will need to register for a new account (even if you've logged into our website before).

Setup Email Reminder

  • We'll send you a reminder when this event goes on sale!

(close pop-up)

Sun 5/2, 2021, 6:00pm
Town Music Series
‘Together’ Apart: yMusic Premieres Judd Greenstein’s Socially-Distanced Work ‘Together’ (livestream)
($20.00 – $25.00)
Sunday, May 2, 2021, 6:00PM

Google iCalendar

Digital Stage

This program will only be available for rewatch through 5/7 and will not be present in our media library after that date.

yMusic believes in presenting excellent, emotionally communicative music, regardless of style or idiom. They bring their virtuosic execution and unique configuration of string trio, flute, clarinet, and trumpet to Town Hall as part of our Town Music season. Drawing on their signature passion and charm, this ensemble presents the world premiere performance of a newly written piece by composer Judd Greenstein, commission especially for yMusic by Town Hall Seattle in conjunction with the Contemporary Youth Orchestra. Known for his structurally complex, viscerally engaging pieces of music, Greenstein’s compositional voice aligns with the stirring verve of yMusic, who embody the humanity of the music they play.

When Town Music at Town Hall Seattle commissioned composer Greenstein to write a piece for yMusic, there was no way of knowing the kind of challenging year 2020 would turn out to be. Now they invite us to an evening to explore how a project evolved as the world shifted. Join a presentation featuring conversation with the musicians and composer Judd Greenstein about the origins and creation of the piece—including the shift to be digital presentation forward during the composing process—coupled with the live playing of the first movement of “Together.” yMusic also presents a conversation with director Adam Larsen, and finally an introduction and virtual premiere of the music video for “Together.”

yMusic’s concerts have attracted the attention of high profile collaborators—from Paul Simon to Bill T. Jones to Ben Folds—and inspired original works by some of today’s foremost composers, including Nico Muhly, Missy Mazzoli, and Andrew Norman. Sit in for the premiere of Greenstein’s new commission performed by “six contemporary classical polymaths who playfully overstep the boundaries of musical genres” (The New Yorker).

yMusic is:

CJ Camerieri – Trumpet

Alex Sopp – Flute

Hideaki Aomori – Clarinet

Rob Moose – Violin

Nadia Sirota – Viola

Gabriel Cabezas – Cello

Presented by Town Hall Seattle.

Send this to a friend