Building Policy Update: Masks and proof of vaccination status are required for attendance through May 31, 2022.
Read our current COVID-19 building policies and in-building safety protocols.

Setup Email Reminder

(close pop-up)

Tue 4/12, 2022, 7:30pm
Town Music: Catalyst Quartet
Celebrating 10 years of Musical Innovation

In its first 10 years, the Catalyst Quartet has made itself an essential part of the chamber music landscape by feasting on the full buffet of string quartet repertoire and adding fresh new flavors of its own; it is no wonder that The New York Times declared them “beautiful to watch, like a family in lively conversation at the dinner table: anticipating, interrupting, changing subjects.” The group pivots effortlessly from the refined music of Vienna in its first and second glory days (represented by Haydn and Webern) to West Coast mavericks John Cage and Terry Riley, and even to a collection of new birthday tributes from 10 diverse composers, co-commissioned by Town Hall Seattle.


Karla Donehew Perez (violin), Abi Fayette (violin), Paul Laraia (viola), and Karlos Rodriguez (cello)


Joseph Haydn (1733-1809) – String Quartet Op. 76 No. 4 “Sunrise”

Terry Riley (b. 1935) – Sunrise of the Planetary Dream Collector (1981)

Anton Webern (1883-1915)- Langsamer Satz (1905)

John Cage (1912-1992)- 4’33” (1952)

CQ MINUTE (2021)

To mark its 10th anniversary, the Catalyst Quartet has commissioned 10 composers to write miniature string quartets: stand-alone compositions featured as individually unique music videos that will comprise a Video Album, representing the way most people experience music today.

Nine composers are committed to the project; the 10th will be decided through a national competition focused on new and emerging talent. The final piece will be 1-2 minutes in length, the final part of a larger narrative that chronicles the 10 years of the Catalyst Quartet.

The Catalyst Quartet believes that art can thrive in the digital age, and be a continued source of inspiration and innovation.


  • Joan Tower ( b. 1938)
  • Andy Akiho ( b. 1979)
  • Billy Childs ( b.1957)
  • Angelica Negrón (b. 1981)
  • Kevin Puts (b. 1972)
  • Kishi Bashi (b. 1975)
  • Caroline Shaw (b.1982)
  • Paquito D’Rivera (b. 1948)
  • Jessie Montgomery (b.1981)
  • Winner: Emerging Composer Competition

CQ Minute is a co-commission of Chamber Music Monterey Bay, the Chamber Music Society of Detroit, Electric Earth Concerts, and Town Hall Seattle.

The program for the performance can be found here.

You can support this season by joining the Town Music Leadership Fund! You’ll receive a stack of benefits including complimentary subscription to the season’s concerts, post-event receptions with the artists, and more (see full list of benefits). Please consider making a gift to support this season’s work. You can donate online here or get in touch with Advancement Director, Kate Nagle-Caraluzzo,
Send this to a friend